How to Search for a Kansas Police Report

Kansas police report

The aftermath of a Kansas car accident is a stressful time. You can be dealing with injuries and property damage, and may forget an important aspect of building your claim—such as getting a police report. Having access to the police report is crucial for filing a complete personal injury claim. The Kansas injury attorneys at Patterson Legal Group explain how to get a Kansas police report, why you need one, and what to do if there is a mistake on your report. 

Why Do I Need a Police Report?

A police report, also known as a crash report or accident report, is an official document that provides detailed information about a specific accident. Law enforcement officers or other authorized personnel who respond to the scene of the accident will generate one after responding to an accident. Accident reports are vital evidence in personal injury claims, as they serve as an official report and provide documentation of the accident. When filing a personal injury lawsuit, a Kansas police report will be used for: 

  • Insurance purposes: an accident report provides an official record of the incident, which can be essential when filing an insurance claim. Insurance companies often require a copy of the accident report to process claims accurately.
  • Legal proceedings: these reports provide valuable evidence to support your case. It contains important details such as the date, time, and location of the accident, statements from involved parties, and potential witnesses.
  • Clarification and documentation: a police report documents the sequence of events of the incident to help clear up any contradictions or confusion around the events of the accident.
  • Determining fault: the accident report often includes who the responding officer believes is at fault for the accident. This can have significant implications for insurance claims and personal injury claims.

Where Can I Get a Kansas Police Report? 

If you’ve been in an accident, getting your police report is a key step in starting the personal injury claim process. After an accident, it usually takes the police around three to five business days to complete and generate the report. If the accident is complex or involves multiple vehicles, it may take the police longer to complete the report.

Depending on your location, you might be able to find your Kansas police report from your local police department’s website. Both the Wichita and Topeka Police Departments have online portals you can access and to download your accident report. Most accident reports can be purchased online from the Kansas Highway Patrol

To access your report via the Kansas Highway Patrol website, you will need to provide the date, location, and type of accident when you search the report. Reports are only available from May 2013 on. There is a $5.00 fee for each report. You can also request a report via mail by sending a written request to the Kansas Highway Patrol Records Section. You will need to provide the same information as you would if you were searching the report online. There is also a $5.00 fee for each report. Additionally, can also search for Kansas accident reports in person at the Kansas Highway Patrol headquarters in Topeka. 

Here are a few other things to keep in mind when searching for a Kansas police report:

  • Provide as much information as possible to make the process easier.
  • If you are not sure what information to provide, you can contact the Kansas Highway Patrol Records Section for assistance.
  • Be patient. It may take some time to find the accident report that you are looking for.
  • Keep in mind that accident reports are public records. Anyone can request a copy of an accident report.

What If There Is a Mistake on a Kansas Police Report? 

Mistakes sometimes happen on accident reports. If there is a mistake in your report, it is not the final word on how the accident occurred. Sometimes these reports contain factual mistakes (e.g. the location of the accident, or the vehicle type), or mistaken opinions. It is also possible that you disagree with an investigating officer if you or someone else received a citation for violating a rule of the road. 

If you find a mistake on your police report, the best thing you can do is to write down a detailed version of events as soon as possible after the accident. Along with writing down the details of the accident, make sure to take photos, record video, and gather witness statements to further back up your claim. The more evidence you have to prove your claim, the easier it will be to file a successful personal injury claim. 

If you have any concerns about the accuracy of a police report, contact a personal injury attorney as soon as possible to explore your legal options. 

Injured in an Accident? Contact Patterson Legal Group

After an accident, obtaining a Kansas police report is one of the most important steps in starting your personal injury claim. Along with the report, your attorney will also need crucial evidence, like photographs, videos, and medical records. By gathering this information, your attorney can establish the other party was at fault and start the process of obtaining damages. 

Patterson Legal Group has more than 75 years of combined experience successfully representing injury victims in Kansas, Missouri, and Oklahoma. We have a track record of winning superior settlements for our clients. Our firm offers free consultations and works on a “no win, no fee” basis, which means that you do not pay a dime unless money has been recovered on your behalf.

To get started on your free consultation, call us 24/7 at (888) 687-2400. You can also fill out this contact form or reach out via LiveChat.

The information on this blog is for informational purposes only. It is not meant to serve as legal advice for an individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create an attorney-client relationship nor does viewing this material constitute an attorney-client relationship.